Alli the Book Giraffe

An autistic book lover


Discussing Indie Authors

Hello readers! Today I wanted to bring a topic here that is gaining some traction on Booktok, Indie authors. There was this guy on Booktok, I don’t know who, who said indie authors were not real authors and only aspiring ones.

I wanted to know if you are interested in Indie authors? I want to bring more attention to them on my blog and my Booktok. IDGAF if a person self published their book or if it comes from a big 5 publisher, I’m gonna read it if it sounds interesting.

The issue is, most people do not give any attention or likes to content surrounding indie authored books. However, that isn’t going to stop me from doing it. Of course, it’s easier from a view standpoint to just read what is popular to gain followers. There is nothing wrong with reading what is popular, at all! I’m just saying we could all support indie authors a bit more.

ACTUALLY, if you are interested in ARCs by Indie authors, go follow me on Booktok! I share every ARC opportunity I find over there, whether I am personally interested in it or not.

When I post Booktok videos about Indie books, I get less than half the views, and that is not an exaggeration at all. I don’t do dedicated reviews here. To be honest, I find dedicated blog reviews to be intimidating, so I don’t really do them. However, when I see other people’s that I am following, I see that when those who review indie books or just less known books, not as many people look at those posts or give them a like.

Another way to get Indie authored ARCs is from BookSirens. Many Indie authors don’t actually care how many followers you have! They just want your review on Goodreads and Amazon to help when the book launches.

BookSirens also helps you to find books that you know you will love because you can add tropes you love and hate. Does this sound like an ad? I promise it’s not.

I would share the ARCs I see on here from Tik Tok, but honestly, most of the time the sign ups are only there for a few days and I would have to make multiple posts a week for that. If you follow me on Booktok, leave me a comment saying you came from WordPress, and I’ll follow you back! I am mutuals with more than half of my followers!


Where to find me: https://linktr.ee/Allithebookgiraffe

Add this user on Goodreads for all your trigger warning needs: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/86920464-trigger-warning-database



3 responses to “Discussing Indie Authors”

  1. Please follow me back I love your work I will share some of your blogs on my Facebook page

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love using BookSirens!! I’ve discovered tons of great books on there, and it’s a great resource for bloggers and authors – I’m so glad you’re bringing more attention to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is an underrated site!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisements

Discover more from Alli the Book Giraffe

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started