Alli the Book Giraffe

An autistic book lover


Book Blogger Hop: My Gateway Book

Hello readers! This week we are talking about gateway books. I think I have told you guys the story of how I got into reading before, but I’ll go ahead and say it again. I feel like so many people in the book community got into read because their parents instilled a love of reading into them from a young age, but that is not the case for me.

I don’t think I ever saw my dad read a book and my mom only read the occasional Dean Koontz. I remember seeing all the DK books, but I don’t remember her actually reading them often at all.

If you’ve never heard of Book Blogger Hop, it is hosted by Ramblings of a Coffee Addict. Each week a discussion topic is given and many book bloggers post based on that topic. New topics start on Friday and end the following Thursday. I personally always post my answers on Sundays.

Advertisements

1st-7th – What was your gateway book—the book that made you want to read more—into reading or into a specific genre? 

When I was a kid, I HATED reading. I am not even kidding. I didn’t dislike it, I hated it. When I was around 9 or 10, I would purposefully fail those AR tests as a kid thinking they would eventually let me just read picture books. It didn’t work one bit. I did actually struggle in school in many aspects, but reading was not one.

However, I did always love scary movies. Once I reached middle school, I discovered Stephen King movies and my mom told me that he was an author.

My absolute favorite Stephen King movie is Dreamcatcher. This is a really old one, but I loved this movie as a kid and would watch it all time time as we had it on DVD.

Advertisements

Lisey’s Story had been published right around this time. This was 2006, so I would’ve been 12. My mom took me to the book section of the store and I picked this book up and I LOVED it.

It follows Lisey, whose husband was murdered. He was an author and had many secrets that she unravels now that he is gone.

I haven’t actually reread this book since reading it at 12 and might do that now that I’m thinking of it. But, I do know that it has a TV show now and I’d love to see it. I still even have my mass market paperback copy of it. And, y’all know I hate mass market paperbacks. And, it’s one of those tall mass market paperbacks, which is worse in my opinion.

One of her coworkers gifted me some of his other books and the rest was history. I started reading more of his book from the local library and started my love of Goosebumps after.

This is so weird because I don’t read horror often anymore nor do I read a ton of Stephen King. I own so many that I haven’t read and honestly forget to prioritize them. However, I still consider him to be my favorite author of all time as his books and movies is where it all started for me.


This post was created by Allison Wolfe for www.allithebookgiraffe.com and is not permitted to be posted anywhere else.

Where to find me: https://linktr.ee/Allithebookgiraffe

Add this user on Goodreads for all your trigger warning needs: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/86920464-trigger-warning-database



One response to “Book Blogger Hop: My Gateway Book”

  1. […] I got into reading in middle school when I started reading Stephen King. I actually have an entire post about it that you can read HERE. […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisements

Discover more from Alli the Book Giraffe

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started