Alli the Book Giraffe

An autistic book lover


Indie Romance Recommendations

Hello readers! I see so many people in the book community say they want to read indie books, but don’t know where to start. So, I’m here to help!

This one will be specifically for romance as I haven’t read much outside of that genre. I have read a bit of cozy mysteries that are indie, but not that many.

I just want to ask before we go any further to please follow my blog if you don’t already. I am so close to 300 followers! I would love to reach that before my 4th Blogiversary in August.

Anyhow, back to the romance books! I’m going to start with contemporary romance and move slowly toward scifi romance as I know that is a bit more niche.

Advertisements

The Fine Print is one that most people have probably heard of, but it’s also one of my favorite indie books. This series is a billionaire romance following three brothers who have to do a different task to get their portion of the family business after their grandfather dies.

If any one of them doesn’t do their task, none of them get their portion of the business, and then it’ll go to their alcoholic father who severely neglected them as kids.

This business is very similar to Disneyland, called Dreamland. Book one is a grumpy sunshine romance, book two is forced marriage and fake dating, and book three is a second chance romance.

This entire series is super light, but also tackles hard topics, specifically alcoholism and parental death.

Before you judge this cover, hear me out! It’s an office, enemies/rivals to lovers romance. This is one of the best enemies to lovers I’ve ever read. My problem is, no one will give this book a chance!

It follows two lawyers on the opposite end of a case who end up renting the exact same house to stay in. Sort of like an Airbnb.

I love the angst in this one. They are both attracted to one another, but really try to hold off. BUT, that doesn’t stop them from teasing one another. These characters are also really funny. Please read this one!

Advertisements

Forgotten Vows is the first book in a thriller romance duology. It follows Ben and Chelsea who are divorced. Chelsea gets into an accident and Ben is her only emergency contact.

When Ben meets Chelsea at the hospital, he realizes she has lost all of her memory. And, this romance forms between them. However, we don’t know what (or who) caused this divorce in the first place, and that thing (or person) may come back to haunt them as Chelsea relearns herself.

Cyndicate: Sins of the Shadows is one I rave about on every platform all the time. If you’ve been here for a while, you probably have seen me mention it.

This one follows a group of people who have to kill some people in order to get into this assassin academy. We follow them during that process and while they are in the academy.

It’s POC, why choose, LGBT, action packed, and written so beautifully. I love how there are multiple love interests and we don’t know who has good intentions and who doesn’t.

Also, Pym is one of my favorite FMCs. She has been through a lot of trauma and I just want to see good things happen to her.

Advertisements

This is one of the earliest ones I read. This entire series is made up of romances between the love interest and the villain in Disney movies.

This one follows Jasmine and Jafar. I just think it’s interesting to think of the dynamic of the villain getting the girl instead of the hero. The later books are very BDSM forward, so know before going into it.

This indie author one is one of the more popular ones in the book community, but I thought I’d mention her anyhow.

Y’all know I do not like dark romance. But, this series is the exception.

The Mindf*ck series follows a female serial killer and the FBI agent she is dating, who is also trying to catch her. She has a reason for being the way she is. Her father was betrayed by the entire town when she was a kid, and then they did some horrible things to her and her brother. And now she is getting her revenge.

This book series was really an emotional one. PLEASE check the triggers before reading it if you are drawn to.

I recently found out this author was actually murdered by her own husband, which makes this story even more sad.

Advertisements

Shifted is a paranormal romance series. There are currently two books out and I think it’s going to be a trilogy.

The part of this book that is paranormal only comes out in the last 10% of it. There is a twist you will not see coming at all!

It follows Jacey, who is just making her way through the dating pool. She is also a fashion designer and has a roommate, who is also her best friend.

This one is also a closed door romance, but it gets spicy in book two.

First of all, look at this cover! It’s so beautiful.

Anyways, this is a fantasy romance between this witch who has lived in her home in the woods alone for 10 years, and an injured prince. It’s super sweet and cozy.

We actually get to explore all her witchy powers, which I loved. She doesn’t really understand them herself as her mother was killed for being a witch when she was a kid.

It has forced proximity with a TON of yearning. And, it’s sort of a forbidden romance as well because he is a prince and being a witch is illegal.

Advertisements

Another author I’m always hyping up over here is Rebecca F Kenney. I LOVE this author’s books. This series specifically follows two sisters, Clara and Louisa.

Louisa accidentally turns this small wooden figure to life and they have to help the Nutcracker journey to his face realm to get to this fountain that’ll keep him human size.

This book is spicy, action packed, a big violent, and such a fun read. I love how vibrant the world is, too. It’s like reading a book with a children’s book setting, but it’s way more sinister.

I would recommend anything by this author, but I thought I’d start here. Plus size romances are not hard to come by at all in the indie romance sphere.

This one is an alien romance between a human woman and an alien on this space station. She meets him through this simulation, so she doesn’t know what he actually looks like.

And he is afraid she may not like him based on how scary he looks.

I love that this plus size FMC does not have a flat stomach. Unlike plus size models, many plus size ladies have a tummy. And, I also love that she isn’t insecure about her size either.

It’s such a good book along with everything else this author has written.

Advertisements

This one is only 70 pages long, and is one that you’ll either love or hate. I LOVED this book. I love how odd it is, but I know not everyone will feel the same.

It’s a romance between a woman and a door. In the perspective of said door. That is all you need to know.

Once I heard that pitch, I immediately read this one. There is a whole genre of romance books out there like this, but I’ve only read one other one myself.


This post was created by Allison Wolfe for www.allithebookgiraffe.com and is not permitted to be posted anywhere else.

Where to find me: https://linktr.ee/Allithebookgiraffe

Add this user on Goodreads for all your trigger warning needs: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/86920464-trigger-warning-database



2 responses to “Indie Romance Recommendations”

  1. So many books to add to my TBR! Thanks for pulling this list together.

    That last one seems a bit…intriguing…in a weird way! I’m very tempted to hunt it down.

    Congrats on (almost) 300 subs! I just started my blog in February and subs are slow. (Almost) 300 is an achievement – and super impressive!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Tuesday – Indie Romance Recommendations […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisements

Discover more from Alli the Book Giraffe

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started