Alli the Book Giraffe

An autistic book lover


Quarter Year Crisis Book Tag

Hello readers! It’s time for another tag post. I saw this tag going around a lot in 2023, but wasn’t blogging between March and May, so I didn’t do it. Am I going to have a life centered crisis every year around this time? I hope that trend dies with 2024.

I am not going to do well on this tag as I haven’t read a book in nearly two straight months, but I still want to participate!

The Quarter Year Crisis Book Tag was created by Roisin’s Reading on Booktube.

How many books have you read so far?

I’ve read 15 books in 2024 so far.

Have you already found a book you think might be a 2024 favorite?

No, I really didn’t enjoy any of the books I read this year. That is kind of what led me into a reading slump, and then life related things happened and it worsened it.

I really am crossing my fingers that I will read a 5 star read when I get back at it.

If not what was your favorite book you read that wasn’t quite five star?

I think the best book I read was the first one I finished, Assassin’s Blade. I really enjoyed the short stories in this book. I listened to one each day until I finished it, and I loved how they were individual stories, but also were interconnected.

I think it made me appreciate Throne of Glass more by knowing Celaena’s backstory. Many people on Tik tok say that this should never be read first, but I don’t see why that is.

I hardly ever like books made up of short stories, but this one was pretty good.

Advertisements

Any 1 star books / least favorite book of the year?

I didn’t give out any one stars, but I did give out four 2 stars. The biggest disappointment was easily Red Rising. I went into this book really loving it.

It is a dystopian centering Darrow, who is a red. Reds live underground on Mars and are working toward colonizing it in the future, or so they think.

Many of them are poor and starving, and Darrow is only 16 with a wife and the world on his shoulders.

Then, we learn that Mars has already been colonized and a certain event happens in the beginning of the book that inspires Darrow to infiltrate the system and take it down.

Once I made it half way through and Darrow was now posing as the color that was highest up, being gold, it turned into this team based Battle Royale and I was no longer interested in the story.

What on earth are the next 5 books about? No way I am reading that many books. That is too much time for a conclusion to this to be done. I will eventually just look up some spoilers.

The other one easily tied for worst was Barbarian Lover, which is book three in the Ice Planet Barbarian series. I was really enjoying this series before this one came along and ruined it for me.

One big part of this book was infertility. This FMC was infertile and a big part of the Barbarian’s culture is about having kids. So, she finds a guy that she likes and she feels less than as a result of knowing she cannot ever be pregnant.

THEN, the way it was handled at the end just upset me. Skip the next paragraph if you don’t want a small spoiler for the end of this book.

By taking in the khui that helps anyone on this planet to live, it cures her infertility and she no longer has to worry about it. Instead of her getting the guy despite not being able to have any children of her own. Like being infertile means that you are broken. I just hated that so much.

Most read genre so far? A book that surprised you?

My most read genre is scifi romance because I read three of the Ice Planet Barbarian books plus 3 of the novellas. I was really going to read every book and novella in this series.

I mean, there were things I didn’t love in the series before book three, and I even went on to read the third novella, which I also really hated for different reasons. So, I’m still going to read scifi romance this year, but nothing by this author again.

Why is this series so popular?

Advertisements

Book that’s come out in 2024 already that you want to read but haven’t yet?

So many! I really am excited for The Stranger in Her House by John Marrs. I have yet to be disappointed by a Marrs book thus far.

He writes scifi thrillers that are honestly unputdownable, almost a little dystopian, and always have a good twist or two along the way.

One goal you made that you’re succeeding at.

Uhm… I did read quite a few indie books in January! That is one that I have done well on.

I have honestly been slumping so bad with reading. I have also stopped doing Booktok and my book club. HOWEVER, I know once I take a big break, I’ll be back and better than ever!


This post was created by Allison Wolfe for www.allithebookgiraffe.com and is not permitted to be posted anywhere else.

Where to find me: https://linktr.ee/Allithebookgiraffe

Add this user on Goodreads for all your trigger warning needs: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/86920464-trigger-warning-database



4 responses to “Quarter Year Crisis Book Tag”

  1. I hope that your reading slump ends soon. I hate it when none of the books that I pick up appeal to me

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Thursday – Quarter Year Crisis Book Tag […]

    Like

  3. I’ve had some five star reads but I still feel like I haven’t read that many books that I’ve LOVED this year. I still need to read something by John Marrs.

    Lauren @ http://www.shootingstarsmag.net

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisements

Discover more from Alli the Book Giraffe

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started